Never assume quiet is weak and loud is strong

Quiet people… are they shy? are they unintelligent? are they scared? are they truly weak?

People are quiet for many reasons. Possibly that they are extremely shy and prefer to be a wallflower; they were in an abusive situation and they do not want to poke the bear; they are accustomed to being ignored; they are better listeners; or maybe they prefer to be alone with their thoughts.

I, personally, am very talkative in a one-on-one situation, I am friendly and kind, I find humor in most things. I am also extremely quiet when I am in a large group. I have been told I will get walked on if I don’t speak up. What people do not understand about me is that I am very smart, but I also have ADHD. I am working on many things in my head all at the same time. I am not weak, I will stand up for myself, however, I feel I can get through most situations without being loud and abusive.

In my childhood, I made everyone comfortable in any situation. The proverbial middle child. My life is handled much better when I leave people in a good way. Since it is my life, I will continue to do so. I am the one, after all, who will need to deal with my internal feelings about every situation in which I have put myself. Overthinking will begin and I will question everything. I am my own worst critic. Writing is my saving grace. I write everything down, work it out, resolve it, and move on. I will always be a work in progress.

To all the quiet people who suffer in silence: I understand completely. Quiet = safe. You will always have someone to talk to if you feel the need. You don’t have to suffer alone.

Don’t underestimate us quiet people. We get what we want when we need to do so. we are stronger than you would believe.

Leave a comment